Reviews

Reviews best short stay accommodation

what our guests say … “overall, the best bed n breakfast accommodation”

 

 

April 21, 2018. Message from Lea who stayed at Camden Hillview to attend a special pilot instructors course at Camden Airport

I cannot thank you – Amber and John – enough for your incredibly warm and loving hospitality. You have a beautiful home and property, one that I felt so at ease with, providing all the comforts I needed and more. Your hospitality has helped me make the most of my week here and I am so grateful to have found this place which is so conveniently located to everything I needed. I sincerely look forward to visiting and staying here again. All the best.

April 9, 2018. Message from Tanya, Ian and their son Raiden who came to Camden from South Australia to catch up with family

A hidden piece of paradise, a special place that we will hold close to our hearts. The unit is outstanding and the views are fantastic. The provisions supplied were wonderful…..the apples were amazing and Raiden loved the cheese platter. He also loved playing with Murphy, talking to Cocky and the horse. How wonderful it is to stay somewhere with no complaints. Everything is provided for a comfortable stay. Amber and John are warm and friendly. It’s a real pleasure to spend time with hosts who go above and beyond. Now the hardest part is leaving. We will miss you both a lot. We hope we can come back soon. Thank you both for everything.

March 11, 2018. Message from Margaret, Alf, Vicki and family who came to Camden to attend a family wedding

Dear Amber and John. What a fabulous find. So glad we stumbled across Camden Hillview when looking for a place to stay for a family wedding. There is nothing to say really that has not been said before, but: what a wonderful, peaceful, beautiful location; what a beautifully appointed, comfortable unit; what a well-thought out and generously stocked fridge/pantry, and most importantly; what friendly, helpful, interesting and simply gorgeous hosts. Thank you Amber and John for allowing our extended family to come and go, leave cars etc etc and help make our weekend and absolute delight. This really is a gem of a place!

February 27, 2018. Message from Mike and Sue Tidy who came from Sussex, UK, to catch up with family and friends

Our dearest Amber and John. There must be something we like about Hillview! This is our fifth year in a row that we have come for an extended stay. Can it be because of John and Amber who we now count as our friends? Can it be the five-star accommodation that they provide? Can it be the lovely swimming pool or the lovely location? Well, of course, it is all of these things, and all being well we look forward to our next visit. With lots of love from Sue and Mike Tidy.

November 11, 2017. Message from Mary and Paul who came from Cheshire, UK, to catch up with family

Once again we have much enjoyed a wonderful stay in this idyllic setting. We could not ask for anything better. Thank you John and Amber. we have appreciated your very kind hospitality and help with everything, including John’s golf clubs which Paul has enjoyed using at the Camden Golf Club. Dear Murphy, Bess and of course, Coco have kept us well entertained. Paul and I will miss you all a great deal and we look forward to seeing you again in 2019. Our love and very best wishes for 2018.

October 9, 2017. Message from Angela and Graham, from Craigmore, SA

Camden Hillview – a hidden gem in the country. So peaceful and so serene. A beautiful place to stay. Thanks so much to Amber and John for their extremely generous hospitality plus provisions provided. We will be back. The girls have loved the horse and Mr Murphy.

October 2, 2017. Message from Peter and Ann who came from Southport, UK, to catch up with family

Everything has already been said – marvellous accommodation, and friendly, attentive hosts. Thanks Amber and John for a lovely stay and the very tasty home-made marmalade. We hope to return in a future year – this will be our first stop. Best wishes to you both and Mr Murphy!

September 17, 2017. Message from Carol and Mark from Tasmania, and Ellen and Alan Dean from Springwood NSW

What can we say. We were made to feel most welcome from the start, above and beyond what is needed, we felt very spoilt indeed. Amber and John are great hosts. (Carol and Mark).

….and from Ellen and Alan

To add to the above, just to say thank you for accommodating us as well….much appreciated. Lovely setting and greatly maintained property. It’s a credit to your hard work.

September 12, 2017. Message from Sue (her third visit)

A fabulous time of R & R. It was lovely to spend some time with you both. Thank you so much for your generosity and support. I look forward to coming back to my ”Little Piece of Heaven”.

August 1, 2017. Message from Tony who came to attend a special convention

Another wonderful visit. Thank you Amber for making your cottage available…it is a rural gem. And thanks to John too for keeping such an immaculate property….a real credit to you both and I feel privileged to stay here. I sense you guys know how to party , so next time we might do some vino and ukulele! Hope you both stay healthy and happy until we meet again. Peace and love.

July 4, 2017. Message from Sandra and John Grant who came to catch up with family

Dear Amber and John. We’ve had the most wonderful staying your fabulous B&B. Thank you for accommodating our family – it’s been so special to be able to spend the weekend with our Harrison, Charlton and Sophia (once she finished the netball carnival). Please come and visit with us in Armidale. Kindest regards.

June 29, 2017. Message from Dawn Ferguson

Thank you Amber and John for a most enjoyable stay. Everything is so perfect, with a lovely homely touch, even to the rose in the bathroom. Your friendly warmth is reflected in the many little touches in and out of the surrounds.

….and also from Sue who came with Dawn. Sue made us some delicious jam from oranges and lemons picked from our trees.

Again, a most wonderful time. Great chance to recharge my batteries! Thanks again, Sue (your resident jam maker).

June 18, 2017. Message from Rob who came from Queensland on business

Dear Amber and John, when I drove into your beautiful home I knew I had made the right choice of where to stay. Your hospitality is warm, friendly and so refreshing. Thank you. Then, when I walked into the B&B I was delighted as it felt like home. Until next time.

June 3, 2017. Message from Noel and Bekki

We had a wonderful stay and your B&B is just right…very relaxing and the customer service is second to none.

May 28, 2017. Message from Jen, March and Oscar

Dear Amber and John. We had a lovely time here in your gorgeous place. Thanks very much for everything.

May 21, 2017. Message from Sue and Anne, who came to Camden Hillview to attend a special event at Camelot

Thank you for making our stay such a pleasant one. It really did feel like ”A Place to Call Home”. And thank you for all your help. Regards.

April 28, 2017. Message from Heath, Janice, Tahlia and Tristan

Such a lovely place with lovely people. Our second visit with many more to come. The Scadden family.

April 21, 2017. Message from Maurice and Kerry who came from the Blue Mountains to attend the wedding of their niece.

What a surprise. What a peaceful haven. What a fantastic place. What great hosts with multiple extras. What scenery, what comfort and…what of Murphy! We loved it all. We are also in this industry and we have explored perfection here. Thank you so much.

(John and I later discovered that Maurice Cooper is a National Judge for Tourism. We felt honoured to be the recipients of such wonderful comments).

March 27, 2017. Message from Mel Atchinson who came from Worcester, England to catch up with friends

Mere words cannot describe how wonderful your hospitality was. With the facilities and the serenity I would rate it 10 stars!!!

Message from Paul and Sandie who came to Camden to attend a special event at Camelot (where A Place to Call Home is filmed)

Thank you once again for looking after us so very well. We looked forward to our visit so much and the apartment is just as cosy and welcoming  as last time. Staying here made our ”Camelot-Ash Parh” visit so much more enjoyable and we hope to be back again very soon. Coco and Murphy take after their kind and generous owners and we will treasure our cuddles with our wee doggy visitor at the front door and Coco’s dancing routine. Until next time.

…and a message from Elizabeth Lombard who shared the accommodation with her friends, Paul and Sandie.

Thank you so much for our wonderful stay again! This is truly a home away from home. Love Murphy – what a little darling and helped me cope with missing my own two little darlings. It was so lovely having Murphy visit us and his training is going so well – he waited so patiently for us to come outside. I heard a rumour that there will be more functions for A Place To Call Home – maybe in September – so I do hope I will be able to come back. When the bus and my lifts came to collect me and drop me off they were wrapped….so now I am worried that we will miss out next time. Thank you so much for the care of this lovely B&B and all the goodies supplied….things that make all the difference. Do hope to be back soon. Love from Elizabeth Lombard.

January 2, 2017. Message from Mike and Sue Tidy who have come to stay from the UK for two months to catch up with family and friends

Three years ago we came as strangers and left as friends. We have visited our friends, John and Amber, for an extended stay in their lovely accommodation every year since. At the time of writing we have already booked for next year. This gives us something to look forward to in the UK, until we return. Thank you so much once again for your hospitality. Best wishes for 2017 and love to you both. Sue and Mike Tidy.

December 23, 2016 from Lara, Damien, Harrison and Xavier

Many thanks, Amber and John, for your hospitality. We had a fantastic stay and will definitely be back. All the best for 2017. Cheers, Lara, Damien, Harrison and Xavier.

December 15, 2016 from George and Anastasia

It was refreshing to find seclusion and privacy close to Sydney. The property is a delight in its presentation and vista. Your hospitality was of a high standard and not intrusive. I hope the Sydney sprawl stays far away. Best wishes and thank you. George and Anastasia.

December 9, 2016 from Mary, Gerrit and family

who came from Western Australia to visit family

Thank you Amber and John for all your hospitality and for a beautiful/comfortable unit. We loved staying here – so close to mum and dad’s house – so convenient. We will definitely be back here when visiting family. Mary, Gerrit and family.

November 23, 2016 from Robin and Anne who came from Great Britain (second visit) to upgrade their skills in flying aeroplanes

First time in the book but not our first visit – and it’s great to be back and see you both again, John and Amber. It really is like coming home. Thank you both so much for your wonderful friendship and hospitality and your incredible thoughtfulness – as usual, everything we could possibly want was provided in your lovely unit. Tomorrow we ”fly to the moon” as John sang so beautifully last night, but we will be back! In the meantime Happy Christmas and thank you again for another really special stay. With love and many good wishes to you both for 2017 – and a big hug for Murphy. Robin and Anne.

November 20, 2016 from Glenys

Thank you for a lovely and comfortable stay. I will be back again. Glenys

November 5, 2016 from Claudia and Vincenzo

who stayed at Camden Hillview while looking for their own place to stay in Camden. Claudia and Vincenzo have come from Italy with the hope of becoming permanent citizens. (They wrote their comments in Italian. An English translation follows)

E chi lo avrebbe mai detto? Altri 10 giorni con voi. E un peccato lasciarvi ma adesso ha inizio la nostra vera vita qui in Australia….la vacanza nel vostro B&B e finita….ma la cosa bella e che abiteremo molto vicini. Ti chiamo domani per saldare il nostro debito (credo che non avremmo mai abbastanza soldi per ripagarvi di tutto quello cha avete fatto per noi. Siete due persone meravigliose e speciali. A presto. Claudia, Vincenzo, Matteo e Elia.

Who would have guessed it? Ten more days with you. It’s a shame to have to leave you but now our real life in Australia has begun….the holiday in your B&B is over….but the good news is that we will live very close to you. I will call you tomorrow in regards to our account ( I believe we will never be able to repay you enough for all that you have done for us. You are both wonderful people and very special. Catch up soon. Claudia, Vincenzo.

November 1, 2016 from Marie, Jesse and Narella

We enjoyed our stay immensely. The apartment was very comfortable and all the little extras were lovely. You have a great spot here. Thank you. Marie, Jesse and Narelle.

October 28, 2016 from Jalin who came to Macarthur to take over the position of principal of a local school before relocating with his family

Thank you for the lovely stay. Great location and great hospitality. We will soon be moving to Camden. Hope everyone is as delightful as Amber and John. Jalin (the Headmaster)

October 24, 2016 from Anna and Helen who came to Camden Hillview to attend a family wedding

Mum grew up here but left in 1968. The Camden history books in the unit were like a trip down memory lane. Thank you for welcoming us to your beautiful unit. It’s been so peaceful looking over the valley and for the chance to lay on the grass in the sunshine (with Murphy)! We feel well rested and grateful to have stayed in such a lovely accommodation with warm hospitality. Thank you. Anna and Helen

October 15, 2016 from Graham and Barbara who came to attend a friend’s wedding

We stayed two nights and relaxed completely. We took lots of early morning photos and had a great time. If you wish you can see our photos on my website. Thank you and we will come again. Graham and Barbara

October 2, 2016 from the Scadden family

Never have we stopped at the edge of untouched picturesque settings just a stone’s throw from town. My favourite time of day was having our children share playtime inside while my wife and I relished in the moment of tea and biscuits outside looking across the idyllic countryside and surreal sunset sky echoed in the still waters. We needed this revitalization and whether by luck or chance we are so thankful we have come across this perfect place which we hope we can return to each year. Thank you so much for having us. The Scadden family.

September 25, 2016 from Rebecca, Kristine, Margot, Lucie and the bridesmaids who came for their sister’s wedding

Dear Amber and John. Thank you so much for your hospitality. Our time at the cottage was perfect and had such a lovely part in my sister’s wedding. We got some great photos out on the property too. Again thank you so much. Vielen Dank. Rebecca, Kristine, Margot and Lucie.

September 22, 2016 from Kim and Keira

Dear Amber and John, your cottage is just fantastic…so clean, comfortable, providing so much more than expected. Such a warm and friendly welcome and the the setting is so beautiful. It was a pleasure to stay here and you certainly know how to run a wonderful B&B. We cannot say thank you enough and wish you continuing success. Kim and Keira

September 19, 2016 from Tony, Lynetta and Jasmine who came to attend a convention held locally

Dear Amber and John….many thanks for providing such a lovely rural retreat. Your property goes far beyond expectation. After your warm and kind welcome we were very impressed with how clean and tidy the cottage was. With all your generous provisions we really felt like we were visiting friends. Thank you too for all your advice on local restaurants….Camden offers some good variety. And thank you for your beautiful puppy Murphy. We loved him!!! It will be a real pleasure to visit here again soon. Our best wishes to you both for every success and happiness. Tony, Lynetta and Jasmine.

September 11, 2016 from Kerrie, Roger, Joy and Glenise

Thank you for providing such a fantastic, relaxing place for us to stay while attending the Picton/Camden family history group conference. Rest assured that we have told lots of people about this fabulous accommodation. Regards. Kerrie, Roger, Joy and Glenise

August 29, 2016 from David and Tanya who came to Camden Hillview because they needed to attend a convention held locally

What a beautiful experience from start to end. This place is just perfect, Amber and John, and we thank you so much. So clean, fresh and well equipped, with serenity and view to die for. Murphy has stolen our hearts too….might smuggle him into our car. Can’t wait to return. All our love, David and Tanya.

August 21, 2016 Message from Gabrielle, Sean, Marni and Bray

We had a lovely stay. We didn’t intend to spend much time at the property but Amber and John made the family feel so comfortable and it was such a nice spot. The children enjoyed playing cricket, exploring, Murphy and Coco. We were also very impressed with how lovely and clean and how well stocked the unit was. Amber and John had thought of everything. We thank you and appreciate you making our mini break so enjoyable and memorable.

August 15, 2016 Message from Sandra, Judy and Maureen (The Three Sisters who run their own B&B in the Central Coast) who stayed at Camden Hillview to catch up with family living locally.

What a find! Thank you so much Amber and John. Everything was perfect…..quiet, comfortable, absolute attention to detail….and with so many extras in the kitchen and bathroom. You’ve thought of everything. Regards from B&B owners who give you a score of ten out of ten. Sandra, Judy and Maureen.

July 10, 2016 from Julie and Mark Cooke  who came with their three children for a short stay accommodation in Camden from Queensland to catch up with family for a christening.

Thank you so much, Amber and John for our lovely stay. You have a beautiful place here and the children had so much fun with the chickens and horses. The quality furnishings and facilities are most impressive and I thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of your unit. We’ll see you next year……yours is so much better than an apartment. Kind regards, Julie and Mark Cooke.

July 10, 2016 Message from Rhonda  who came to meet up with friends for a special charity fund raising event.

Beautiful place to stay, very spacious … beats motel any day. Feels very country, and we come from rural country. Rhonda Moon.

July 3, 2016 Message from Sally  who needed short stay accommodation for five days in order to attend a Hill Song conference.

Amber and John, what a lovely little rural place you have! I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my stay! Amber, your attention to detail is outstanding – from the home-made marmalade and goodies in the fridge, to the coffee table books, to the extensive bathroom requisites. I got a bit of a laugh from the auspiciously neat layout of your utensil drawer – mine’s a far cry from this. LOL! I loved cuddles with Henry and Bess (the horses) and was completely in awe of the foggy, frosty mornings which I had no end of fun photographing. Your generosity and friendly banter were greatly appreciated……and a big welcome to wee Murphy (the new pup) who has already stolen my heart. I’ll be back. Love, Sally T.

June 18, 2016 Message from Jim and Maree  who stayed with their two children for 19 days while preparing to relocate to northern NSW.

Dear Amber and John. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality. We really enjoyed our stay. You made a difficult time for us much less stressful. Thanks again, Jim and Maree

May 30, 2016 Message from the McNeills

Thank you so much. Everything we could have wanted was supplied. The unit was clean and comfortable and the deco was spot-on. It’s a really lovely place. The McNeills.

May 27, 2016 Message from Tash, a student nurse who stayed due to study commitments in Campbelltown.

Thank you guys so much. I have really enjoyed staying here and wish I could have stayed a lot longer. I will be definitely coming back. You made me feel right at home. I will be happy to recommend this little place to everyone. Tash

May 20, 2016 Message from Manu, a very charming French man who stayed due to work commitments in Narellan.

Thanks guys for the welcoming here. Was good to stay out here for a few days, very quiet place. A Frenchman in Australia

May 16, 2016 Message from Jim and Gloria, originally from Canada, but now living in Walcha.

Dear John and Amber, thank you for an enjoyable stay. Jim and Gloria Witt, Walcha, NSW

May 12, 2016 Message from Cheryl, Kari and Hannah who stayed on route from Newcastle (after a dog show) to Melbourne.

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay with our dogs. This was a perfect place to stay, lovely, immaculate accommodation and attention to detail in every respect. Enjoyed my chats with you both. Cheryl, Kari Harding and Hannah Kelly.

May 9 2016 Message from Susan and Caroline who stayed for the week-end.

A really beautiful place to stay…too many positives to list. Thank you very much. Hope to come back sometime. Thank you so much.

May 2, 2016 Message from Helen and James who stayed due to their medical appointments in Sydney.

What begins with a charming and welcoming hostess continues to give pleasure with immaculate unit, attentive consideration and little details that make for perfect accommodation. Amber even turned on balmy Autumn days, cheerful sunrise and rose-tinted sunsets. Wonderful!

April 23, 2016 Message from Bernadette who came to attend her son’s wedding

Dear John and Amber, thank you for your wonderful hospitality. We felt very welcome in your immaculate accommodation. It was a pleasure to stay here for my son’s wedding. Bernadette.

March 22, 2016 Smile1 Message from Kassie (from Iowa, USA) and Chad

Thank you so much for letting us stay at your B&B. The hospitality was so warm and welcoming. You made us feel right at home, and with the view, it felt exactly like home. We really appreciated everything you did for us. Thanks again and best wishes, Kassie and Chad.

March 3, 2016 Message from Jim who stayed for 10 days due to work commitments at nearby Narellan.

An absolute pleasure – a charming and peaceful retreat that was both clean and comfortable. Both yourself and John have been very obliging and unobtrusive. I would happily recommend your B&B to anyone travelling these parts. Cheers.

December 23, 2015 Message from the Silva family who stayed for 10 days, spending Christmas and New Year at Camden Hillview.

Dear Amber and John, thank you so very much for your amazing hospitality. We were blown away at the kindness and thoughtfulness you guys offered.We will gladly recommend your little country paradise to anyone who travels this way. With fond memories, The Silvas.

December 17, 2015 Message from Tim and Prue, who stayed for six weeks with their children Samuel and Grace, while waiting for their new home to be completed.

Dear Amber and John, thank you dearly for having us stay at your wonderful B&B. We loved waking up to the lovely views across the paddocks and seeing the two beautiful horses, Bess and Henry as well as the new born foals. It was spectacular. We thank you for caring for us, sharing things with us and thank you John for all the horse information. It was very interesting. Banjo was beautiful as well and always greeted us when we returned from an outing. Yours was a lovely place and you were lovely people who we now consider friends. Thank you for having us. Love and well wishes.

November 22, 2015 Message from Mar and Paul Carr who came all the way from Cheshire, England.

Thank you both for such a wonderful time at your delightful B&B. We have enjoyed every moment and are now feeling very relaxed. We do hope (your lovely black mare) Bess will give you lots of pleasure and fun. Looking forward to returning some time in the future. Many thanks again for your kindness. Love and very best wishes.

October 24, 2015 Message from Debbie and Colin Wood who stayed for two nights.

Congratulations Amber and John on your wonderful B&B and property. It has been perfect for our family get-together weekend away and your hospitality and warm welcome was exceptional. We felt very comfortable here and would have loved to have stayed longer. We will no doubt be back soon. Thank you again, and much love.

September 17, 2015 Message from Denise and Cliff Hodson who came up from the Mornington Peninsula, Victoria and stayed for five nights.

Dear Amber, John, Banjo, horses and chickens. Thank you so much once again for a fantastic stay. We would not dream of going anywhere else to stay on our annual visit to this part of the world. Wonderful accommodation, fantastic hosts, beautiful area, peace and tranquility. Hope to see you again next year.

August 31, 2015  Message from Vincenzo and Claudia Giordano who came with their two boys, Elia and Matteo. They stayed for 28 days and now have decided to apply for permanent citizenship because they love Australia so very much.

(Their message is in Italian as their English is not as good as they would like it to be … yet. I have added the translated version.)

”Cari Ambra, John and Banjo. Grazie davvero tanto per tutto quello che avete fatto per noi. Grazie Ambra per le lunghe chiacchiere e camminate; grazie perche’ ad ogni nostra richiesta eri sempre pronta ad aiutarci. Sei veramente una donna speciale. Grazie John per la pazienza che ai avuto con i nostri bambini. Sei stato un nonno paziente ed amoroso. Per loro sarai sempre il loro eore!! Nessuno piu’ insegera’ a loro come schiacciare la frusta, tirare i lazzo ed andare a cavallo come hai fatto tu. Sarete sempre nei nostri cuori e speriamo tanto che questo non sia un addio…ma…un ARRIVEDERCI A PRESTO. Che Dio vi benedica, protegga, darvi tanto salute ed amore per moltissimo tempo. Grazie andcora, Claudia, Vincenzo, Elia, Matteo.

(Here is the translation of the above: “Dear Amber, John and Banjo. Thank you truly for all that you have done for us. Thank you Amber for the long talks and walks; thank you because at our every request you were so ready to help. You are truly an exceptional woman. Thank you John for your patience with our boys. You were, to them, a patient and loving grandfather. For them you will always be their hero. No one will ever show them how to crack a whip, throw a lasso or ride a horse the way you have. You both will always be in our hearts and we very much hope that this will not be good-bye….but ……see you soon. May God bless you, protect you, give you good health and love for a long time to come. Thanks again, Claudia, Vincenzo, Elia and Matteo.)

July 30, 2015 Message from Martin and Diane Daly, visitors from London, UK who stayed for 13 nights.

”Thank you so much for your welcome at a particularly stressful time. Everything for our comfort and convenience had been thought of before we knew that we needed it. We shall miss the morning visits of Mr Banjo and the ladies (chickens) too.

July 11, 2015  Message from Ross and Valerie who came from the Sunshine Coast and stayed for six nights.

”Thank you Amber and John for your great accommodation called a B&B……but more like a home away from home. The pony orientation for our grandson was absolutely fantastic as was every other aspect of our all too short stay. Many thanks,

July 9, 2015 Message from Penny and her daughter Maddie who came from Victoria and stayed for three nights to attend a horse riding competition at Camden’s Equestrian Centre.

”Dear Amber and John. Thank you for making us feel so welcome. I’m sorry we were gone for most of the day, but what a sanctuary to return to . We will be back. Many thanks.

July 2, 2015 Love Message from David and Narelle Albury from the Central Coast, who came to Camden for five nights to help their son and daughter-in-law renovate their new home.

”Had a wonderful time. Amber and John went far beyond our expectations of a B&B. Thank you John for the horse, whip and lasso experience you gave our grandson which he will remember for a long time. We will highly recommend Camden Hillview to others.

June 22, 2015  Message from Forde, Pam and their grand-daughter Olivia Leathley who came from northern NSW and stayed for three nights. Olivia came to Camden to compete in a golf tournament.

”Thank you Amber and John. We were very happy in your B&B. It was just perfect for our stay. Olivia was happy to have her own bedroom, and we all loved the country views. Certainly much nicer than a motel. So glad that we found you.

June 16, 2015 Message from Wendy Brown (from Victoria) and Ewin Lewis (from Newcastle) who stayed for three nights and came to Camden to attend a dairy symposium at the University of Sydney Cobbitty campus.

”Amber, thank you for making our stay so warm and homely. So much better than staying at a motel. We loved your unit and every little detail you took care of to ensure a comfortable and delightful stress-free experience. Wendy and Ewin, Parmalat Australia.

June 7, 2015  Message from Margot Meredith, one of three equestrian judges who stayed at Camden Hillview for three nights during a major horse jumping event at Camden’s Equestrian Centre.

”Amber, John, Banjo and the menagerie. If only I could have had more time to enjoy your wonderful hospitality. Leaving at 7.30am for three days and returning late – except for tonight where I feel so at home – has been such a welcome respite from a soulless motel room. Thank you for being you and offering a warm and welcoming home to me for the past three days. Sincere regards.

June 3, 2015 Message from Rowan and his children Cleo and Jay who stayed for three days. (Rowan is a professional photographer who came to photograph a major horse event at Camden’s Equestrian Centre).

”Thanks Amber, John, Banjo, Clancy (our horse) and the six chickens for making us feel so at home. We loved the place. Not many places around as good as this. The unit had everything you need. The kids enjoyed themselves. We will remember our holiday to Camden forever. We wish you all the very best for the future. Thanks John for the horse tips. We will miss our little mate Banjo. Thank you.

May 17, 2015 Message from Tracy Isbister and her husband Dean who got married during the weekend of their stay. This was Camden Hillview’s first wedding! Hoorah!!

”Dear Amber and John, Thank you for providing us with such a beautiful place for us to stay for our wedding … your B&B’s first wedding! YAY!! You were very welcoming and supportive. Thank you. Tracy and Dean.

May 15, 2015 Message Sue, Simon and their daughter Izabella. Visitors who relocated from Western Australia to Camden and stayed at Camden Hillview for 24 days while waiting to move into their home.

”Dearest Amber and John … Banjo, Clancy, Moet and Chandon … and oh, nearly forgot, the chickens!! It has been an absolute pleasure to spend the past four weeks in your delightful B&B and an even bigger pleasure getting to know the both of you. You have made our transition from WA to NSW so much easier and am happy to say we’ve made our first friends here. Thank you both for your hospitality and for always going out of your way to make our stay a great one and lasting memories for Izabella. Big hugs.

April 18, 2015 Message from Andrew Rowsell and his friend Dave. Visitors from Carnegie, Victoria who stayed for 2 days. (Andrew and Dave are film makers and came to Camden to film the largest national equestrian competition which involved more than 650 horses).

Dear Amber and John, you never really know what to expect when you book accommodation and it’s always such a great surprise when it exceeds you expectations. You have set a new standard and you guys are naturals. You have helped so much in the short time we’ve been here and it has made a real difference for us. Can’t wait to come back to this beautiful place in this beautiful town. Cheers, Andrew.

….and from Dave: Dear Amber and John, Thanks for having us over the weekend. For two people who weren’t sure if they wanted to run a B&B two years ago, you certainly do a great job!! Thanks for making us feel welcome and hopefully we can stay here again in the future. Cheers.

March 30, 2015  Message from Barbara Morley. Visitor from Majorca, who stayed for 29 days.

”My darlings, Amber and John. You have become two of my dearest friends. Apart from staying in your delightful B&B – kept to such a high standard and with all home comforts – you made me feel so welcome. And wonderful, friendly Banjo visited me most days and sometimes sat at my feet while I was outside reading. I am feeling much stronger after using the treadmill and so relaxed after passing the time in such beautiful surroundings. My childhood memories from spending so much time at Gulf Station in Victoria were reawakened. I thank you most sincerely. Much love.

February 28, 2015 Message from Michael and Sue Tidy. Visitors from the United Kingdom, who stayed for 58 days.

”One year ago to the date we wrote in this book praising everything Hillview had to offer. We can only add further praises. Our dear friends John, Amber and Banjo are wonderful hosts, as ever. We hope to return next year to our home from home across the world. Thank you so much for making our stay so wonderful and for welcoming our friends and family when they came calling. Love to you.

December 9, 2014 Smile Message from Lily, George and Simona Strungaru. Visitors from the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia who stayed for 12 days.

”Dear John and Amber…and Banjo, Moet and the clucky ladies. We want to thank you very much for your lovely hospitality and kindness. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in our ‘home away from home’. The views also were absolutely beautiful. We will be sure to recommend your B&B to others. All the best from your Saudi/Aussie/Romanian friends.”

November 18, 2014  Message from Yos and Wim. Visitors from The Netherlands, who stayed for 10 days.

”For me it is difficult to write in English so I do it in Dutch (sorry).

Het was de afgelopendagen heel plezierig om gebruik te maken van jullie cosy home! Dank voor jullie ontvangst hier in Camden, te zien hoe het leven hier is en vooral hoe jullie speen zekere leeftyd leven, actief met de paarden en Amber met haar tennis and haar gastvryheid. Dank nogmaals, wy geven het door in Holland. Hartelyk groeten van Wim en Yos.”

(The above roughly translates to: ”It was very enjoyable to make use of your cosy home! Thanks for your reception here in Camden, to see what life is like here, especially how you live such an active lifestyle with the horses and Amber with her tennis and her ……… Thanks again, we will recommend you in Holland.”)

October 21, 2014 Message from Adam and Amelia Mounsey. Visitors from Durack, Queensland, who stayed for three days.

”After a long day’s drive this is exactly what my family and I needed to relax, unwind and feel at home. Your hospitality was absolutely beyond words; the nicest hosts we have ever come across! If we ever come down this way again, be sure to expect us to stay here. We will also be telling all our family and friends about Camden Hillview. The kids are in love with the scenery and animals as much as we are. It truly is a beautiful place for children to appreciate and love animals and nature.

PS. Banjo rocks!

October 6, 2014  Message from Brent Dennison and daughter, Jasmine. Visitors from Mt Eliza, Victoria, who stayed for three days.

”Thank you very much for your delightful hospitality. The ”hill view” is indeed beautiful and the tranquillity is therapeutic!! We appreciated very much just how welcome we felt here, and look forward to returning many times in the future. With Jasmine’s success, this is a lucky place for us now! Thank you again.”

(Jasmine, 14, competed in the Equestrian Youth Championships held at the Camden Equestrian Centre and won outright. She will now represent Australia in the international equestrian championships which will be held in Mexico next year.)

September 21, 2014 Message from Denise and Cliff Hodson. Visitors from Rosebud, Victoria, who stayed for three days.

”Thank you so much for the opportunity to spend four lovely days at Hillview. The peace and tranquillity was truly appreciated. The quality of the amenities and the fact that you have thought of everything was greatly appreciated also. We look forward to being able to return to this wonderful part of Australia. Looking forward to catching up again.”

September 16, 2014  Message from Seok Min Seo and friends. Visitors from South Korea who stayed for five days.

”It is best place for relax. We were overpowered with the beauty of the scene. Especially the starlight night and your kind hospitality. I want to come back as soon as possible if permitted. My wife and friends enjoyed happiness in here. I wish you good health and good fortune.”

September 2, 2014  Message from Kyoko and Masa. Visitors from Japan who stayed for 11 days.

”This is the place! We really want to stay. Many thanks to Amber and John. We had unforgettable moments, and we never ever forget your hospitality. Honestly we don’t want anyone to know ”Hillview”. We want to make ”Hillview” our secret place. Oh, selfish too much…sorry…We wish you are having a best life. Keep well Banjo, Moet and Chandon!!”

July 8, 2014  Message from Manjula, Nihel and children. Visitors from Melbourne who stayed for five days.

”Thank you very much for your kind hospitality. We felt like we were at home. It is a beautiful place and everyone was happy to stay here. Thank you very much again for having us here. Best regards.”

June 22, 2014  Message from Susan, Gary and Jeanette. Visitors from Queensland who stayed for two days.

”Camden Hillview was a beautiful place to stay and wake up each morning with an absolute view to dream about. The accommodation was to the highest standard. Thank you very much for such a lovely place to stay. Once again, kindest regards.”

June 20, 2014  Message from Meisha. A visitor from Canberra (pursuing a post doctorate degree) who stayed for 18 days.

”What a whirlwind three weeks – an exhausting and intense time at work but to be able to come each day to this beautiful place has kept me sane! This has been much more than a place to sleep – you’ve made me feel very welcome and cared for. I can’t wait to come back for leisure next time and enjoy this place even more. You are both very special people.”

June 1, 2014  Message from Robert and Liz. Visitors from Perth who stayed for four days.

”Beautiful setting, the bell birds and black cockatoos were highlights. Every possible need was anticipated. We especially appreciated the excellent reading lamps. The first of many visits, we hope.”

May 24, 2014 Message from Jo, Glenn, Samuel and Matthew. Visitors from Harrington Park who needed accommodation while their home was being renovated and stayed for 42 days.

”Dear Amber and John and Mr Banjo. Thank you so much for being fantastic hosts during our six week stay. You made us feel like we were home. Camden Hillview B&B is absolutely fabulous. We will recommend it to all we know. We loved watching the horses in the morning mist, seeing the chooks scratch around freely, and of course, the daily greetings from Mr Banjo and yourselves. Thank you for having us.”

April 8, 2014  Message from Orlando and John. Visitors from Perth, here on business, and stayed for 10 days.

”Thanks for the opportunity to stay with you. We have really appreciated your accommodation which you keep to a high standard. The views are and extra bonus. We hope everything continues smoothly. Regards.”

March 17, 2014  Message from Jeanne and ‘Soldier of Fortune’. Visitors from Queensland who stayed for two days. ”Fantastic place to relax. Views better than in Norfolk Island.”

March 10, 2014  Message from Simon. A regular visitor here on business who stayed for seven days.

”I love waking up here. The view across the valley each morning is like stepping into a slowly shifting oil painting. Time pauses and for a moment I do too. Thank you Amber and John. You have made a difference, and I value that. Love to you both.”

February 28, 2014  Message from Sue and Mike. Visitors from Sussex, England who stayed for 60 days.

”Hillview was described to us as a five-star accommodation. It’s not, it is more than that. To list the good things is easy: the welcome from Amber and John, so caring, warm and friendly; the accommodation which is beautifully equipped; the setting – with gorgeous views across the paddocks and creeks to the mountain ranges; the horses lazily grazing in the paddock; the chickens and Banjo – the dearest, friendliest little dog who is always there to greet you on your return from an outing. A neighbour said that if you make a friend of John and Amber you have made a friend for life. We certainly hope this is true. We can only say that it is a beautiful home away from home. Thank you so much.”